Reviews

What people are saying about Greenbank Farm Holidays




Properly Dog Friendly - Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and I booked two bedrooms (both with en-suites) for ourselves and my parents, and we brought with us our 2 very large dogs. The description says 'pet-friendly' but they really are pet friendly(!) the dogs had plenty of room and had a lovely run in one of the owners private fields. The host could not have been more hospitable, and the breakfast was lovely! The B& B is only a short walk from the beautiful village of Cartmel where we had a wonderful dinner at a lovely restaurant / pub (which was also dog friendly!). All round a great stay, and would definitely return (hopefully next time I'll book far enough in advance to hack out one of their beautiful horses)!

Reviewer:Becca D | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


You won’t be disappointed ! - Rating 5/5

We can highly recommend Greenbank Farm Holidays. We stayed in the en-suite Valley View room & were very comfortable. When we came down in the morning we were amazed at the selection on offer for breakfast & our only disappointment was that we didn’t have room to sample everything!!! Maybe we’ll just have to come back to taste that Bavarian bread! Thank you to our hostesses for looking after us so well.

Reviewer:Sue & Alan S | Fri 26th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Home from home in a glorious setting - Rating 5/5

If you're looking for the rural idyll, with views over rolling pasture and open skies - then this is it. Wonderful old stone farm with lots of character. Friendly, welcoming owners and - the icing on the cake - a herd of magnificent Friesian horses (some of which you can ride!). Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Emma M | Tue 25th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Simply Fabulous - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here before and it is just so lovely. A warm welcome, great room en suite, exactly as described on website.The surrounding scenery is just wonderful and you are in a good location for visiting the area.The village of Cartmel is within walking distance (approx a mile) and is very picturesque,and the Royal Oak was dog friendly as were the majority of pubs.My main reason for visiting were the wonderful Friesian horses that you can ride and drive. It is truly a most wonderful experience that will have you wanting to come back every year. I am already looking forward to my next visit. Thanks Sylvia, Tracey, Jodi and everyone involved in making Greenbank such a memorable place to visit.

Reviewer:Vicky S | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Open views, open house, open people - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome and were warmly included in the comings and goings of family and animals. Very dog welcoming. Peaceful and comfortable. Gorgeous breakfasts. within easy walking distance of Cartmel. Dainty Victorian Grange over-Sands 2 miles away. A pleasure to stay here.

Reviewer:Ron K | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome and were warmly included in the comings and goings of family and animals. Very dog welcoming. Peaceful and comfortable. Gorgeous breakfasts. within easy walking distance of Cartmel (for those who walk). Dainty Victorian Grange over-Sands 2 miles away. A pleasure to stay here.

Response

Thank you Ron!

Reviewer:Ron K | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Would definitely recommend! - Rating 5/5

I stayed with my husband for one night in the larger of the rooms with its own en-suite.It was very clean and well furnished.Sylvia is lovely and can't do enough for you.Breakfast was beautiful, fresh berries, yoghurts, bread and hot cheese and bacon scones with pastries too!Would love to come back.

Response

Thank you for such a lovely review and we hope to see you soon!

Reviewer:Jane & Steve D | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Greenbank Farm holiday - Rating 5/5

Everything was excellent, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We had lovely breakfasts and the rooms are wonderful. Thank you so much you really made our holiday a really special and we’d love to come back soon!!!

Reviewer:Miriam, Tim & H | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Greenbank Farm holiday - Rating 5/5

Everything was excellent, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We had lovely breakfasts and the rooms are wonderful. Thank you so much you really made our holiday a really special and we’d love to come back soon!!!

Response

Thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having you to stay and we look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Reviewer:Miriam, Tim & H | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Wonderful place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming lovely family business. Felt at home right away. Enjoyed breakfast, nothing to much trouble. Very comfortable room and bed. Clean and tidy, modern bathroom facilities. Really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Deborah F | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely weekend stay - Rating 5/5

we really struggled to find words adequate enough to describe how lovely this B & B venue is.Sylvia and her lovely family made us feel welcome from the very minute we arrived and when we didn't manage to get a taxi to take us into Cartmel village on Friday evening ( they were all fully booked ), Sylvia's daughter kindly stepped in and took us down in the family car - such a kind gesture and much appreciated !the farm is lovely and charismatic with lots of authentic features and the views are to die for!The breakfast is by far one of the best I have ever had in many years of staying in B& Bs.Ok some would complain its not a full English, but that's what made it for us. The lovely selection of chopped fresh fruit, the organic muesli, the fresh baked bread etc was so good we even asked where Sylvia got her supplies from and went into Grange over Sands to buy them ourselves!!all in all a lovely homely experience. Sylvia is a warm and accommodating host and nothing is too much trouble.You are welcomed into their family home as if you were a long lost relative.thoroughly enjoyed it and it'll be our point of contact whenever we come back to the Lakes in future.Liz and Volker Bunte

Response

Thank you both for such a lovely review and we very much enjoyed having you stay with us!

Reviewer:Volker B | Mon 30th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Incredible and beautiful acccommodation - Rating 5/5

An old farmhouse with amazing views, olde world charm and lovely people. The rooms are great and the bed was the best we have ever had.The shower/bathroom was enviable with top rate suite. Breakfast offered lots to choose from. Altogether brilliant.

Reviewer:stella d | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Lovely time - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Greenbank farm very much . A friendly welcome , room with a view - wonderful breakfast and enjoyed sitting in the garden with beautiful views. Also great recommendations for what to do .

Reviewer:Jane De V | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

I loved it horses were outstanding the staff were great and lovely. The room was clean and the breakfast was amazing. If you are a horse lover go. I learnt so much and a photographer took pictures so I have memories for ever.

Reviewer:Deborah G | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Peaceful - beautiful views - comfortable - Rating 5/5

My partner and I had a wonderful stay in the king size room that walks out onto the farm. Very comfortable huge bed. Stunning pictures of the friesians. Helpful guides of the lake district. Friendly warm welcome. Lovely breakfast with a choice of cereals - yogurts - fresh orange tea coffee. Toasts. Croissants & scones. Staying to near to such beautiful horses was a dream come true. And my ride with tracey was an experience ill never forget. Ill be back every year now for sure!

Reviewer:Sarah W | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Ride and stay in Cumbria - Rating 5/5

Love staying here when I come to Cartmel to ride.Cosy cosy bed, amazing breakfast and most of all made to feel like one of the family.Nothing is to much trouble.Dont change anything ladies😍

Response

Thank you so much Gill - you know you are always welcome!

Reviewer:Gill P | Thu 17th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Amazing Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Had a fabulous night away here. Really comfortable bed and a very peaceful location so had a great nights sleep. Lovely sized room and en-suite. Breakfast was fabulous, pastries, cheese and bacon scones, fruit, cereals and more! Lovely hosts. Wished we'd booked another night.

Response

Thank you for the lovely review and we would love to have you back to stay!

Reviewer:Peter A | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Beautiful home and location, very welcoming - Rating 5/5

We've just enjoyed an incredible weekend at Greenbank. Sylvia and her family were so welcoming and the house, horses and surroundings were absolutely beautiful. Delicious breakfast and Cartmel village is very close by. We're hoping to be back again soon.

Response

Thank you for your review Ann - hope to see you again soon!

Reviewer:Ann M | Tue 20th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Wonderful Time at Greenbank Farm - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Greenbank Farm for two nights & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were made to feel so welcome. The room was lovely, comfortable and homely and it was great to have our own entrance. Breakfast was superb and we loved being on a working farm surrounded by beautiful horses and lovely dogs. Some delicious meals in Cartmel too.

Response

Thank you for your review Carolyn and we hope to see you both again soon!

Reviewer:Carolyn G | Sun 18th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Cartmel- Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay and the owners were friendly and accommodating .

Response

Thank you for your review Malcolm and we hope to see you both again sometime in the future.

Reviewer:Malcolm P | Sun 18th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Beautiful setting with kind hosts - Rating 5/5

Great location for visiting Cartmel and the surrounding area. Beautiful view from our room, delicious breakfast, room spotless. Received a brilliant recommendation for dinner in Cartmel at the Cavendish Arms.

Reviewer:Katherine T | Thu 30th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Amazing! What a beautiful and welcoming place to stay :) - Rating 5/5

I cannot recommend staying here enough! A beautiful farm, amazing hosts and fab location - a perfect base for a Lake District break in stunning cartmel.

Response

Thank you Jennifer! We loved having you both here for the 3 days and we\'d really like to see you again sometime soon.

Reviewer:Jennifer N | Tue 28th Nov 2017 | 11 months ago


Another fabulous stay in horsey heaven🐴 - Rating 5/5

My second stay at Greenbank Farm and it was as good as the first. A small family run b& b that is so welcoming and just perfect for those who ride but equally perfect for those who want to visit the lake district to walk or mountain bike as it is in a beautiful location.They also give you the most lush breakfast to set you off on your day, im so looking forward to my next visit.Thanks ladies for a lovely stay

Reviewer:Gill P | Wed 15th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


A wonderful warm welcome - Rating 5/5

I was riding at the farm the next day so I chose to stay at the farm overnight. I arrived in the dark so it was a joy to see the rolling hill views the next morning. Breakfast was fantastic with an array of fruit,cereals, pastries, lovely coffee and orange juice in the most wonderful kitchen. Being a writer and lover of history, the farm's age and architecture intrigued me. My bed was huge and comfortable and the ensuite bathroom had an enormous bath. Cartmel Village is just down the hill and well worth a visit. Not far from the M6 and Kendal, i enjoyed my drive the next day through the beautiful Lakes. I look forward to staying again. You have a wonderful family.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review Ellie and we loved having you here. Please come back soon - the horses miss you!

Reviewer:Ellie W | Sat 11th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect all round! - Rating 5/5

The setting is stunning and the warm hospitality is second to none! We couldn't have felt more welcome and looked after. This family business offers a homely place to stay with the added incredible horses, a genuine piece of rural heaven.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review.We love having people here and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Claire C | Wed 4th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Girls night away - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Greenbank Farm was lovely, I could not fault it in any way! Everyone was friendly and helpful, I stayed with my friend as we were riding at the stables the next day. Lovely rooms with lovely view and the breakfast is AMAZING!

Response

Thank you Rachel. We loved having you both to stay and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewer:Rachel F | Thu 28th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Stayed 23-25 August 2017 - Rating 4/5

We chose to stay at Greenbank Farm because our daughter was staying down the road with her 3 children & we were within walking distance. Unfortunately the 2 en-suite bedrooms were taken so we had a room with a'shared' bathroom, which wasn't our preferred option. However, we enjoyed our stay & the continental breakfast was excellent.

Response

Thank you Gillian for your kind review.Hopefully if you come again you will be able to have one of our ensuite rooms.Was lovely to see you.Kind regards, Sylvia

Reviewer:Gillian F | Sun 27th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely old farmhouse, and we were made to feel very welcome by Sylvia and her family. We stayed in Paddock View, which was accurately described on the website and very comfortable for an overnight stay. The continental breakfast was wonderful and included a wide variety of fresh fruit and pastries. We would definitely return for a longer stay.

Response

Thank you Graham. We enjoyed having you both to stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.Kind regardsTamara

Reviewer:Graham R | Tue 22nd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Friendly & Comfortable - Rating 5/5

Greenbank exceeded my expectations, traveling alone from the US. Picture perfect surroundings and very spacious, up-to-date accommodations at a gorgeous, well maintained property. The rural location close to Cartmel Racecourse couldn't have been more perfect! Very friendly family made me feel at home during my stay.

Response

Thank you Melissa, it was a pleasure to have you stay.Thank you so much for your kind review and hope to see you again some time.Kind regards Sylvia

Reviewer:Melissa K | Tue 15th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


great little find - Rating 4/5

really nice farm and great breakfast

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review, regards Sylvia

Reviewer:clarebleasdale@hotmail.co.uk b | Mon 17th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Beautiful place. - Rating 5/5

Just got back from an amazing stay at greenbank farm, the room was lovely the bed was so comfortable, will definitely be going back, was made so welcome, the lake District is so beautiful and the views were amazing, would definitely recommend.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review.Was a pleasure having you stay.Sylvia

Reviewer:Joanne M | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable and welcoming stay at Greenbanks. I would 100% recommend Sylvia's amazing hospitality, the room was large, clean and comfortable. We were made to feel at home from the second we stepped inside. Thank you Sylvia, we will be back hopefully!

Response

Thank you Jodie for your lovely review.Was a pleasure having you stay.Hope to see you again sometime,regards Sylvia

Reviewer:Jodie H | Wed 5th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


our 2 nights at Grenbank - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay and the hospitality we received. Wonderful setting and most convenient for the Lakes etc.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review, hope to see you again sometime, kind regards Sylvia

Reviewer:John P | Sat 20th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Booked Farm View double room which had own door access being more convenient as I had a dog with me. The room was huge, enormous bed, very comfortable deep sprung mattress, beautiful quality cotton bed linen. Bath/Shower ensuite with all usual toiletries provided plus hairdryer.Mini fridge in room was very useful. Tea/Coffee/milk and biscuits provided.Two bottles of water in fridge on arrival. TV. 2 seater settee. Charming hostess. Very nice continental breakfast. Normally would be a cooked english breakfast , however, due to personal circumstances this was not possible.I was informed before arrival and given the option of a refund and booking with another nearby hotel. An english breakfast is lovely but a continental one makes a nice change and it was excellent, loads of fresh fruits, yogurt,cereal, bread, croissants, fruit juice, tea and coffee. The riding was on homebred Friesian horses and they were simply amazing. I also hired their local photographer to take the most wonderful photos of my two rides. A very relaxing place to stay with gorgeous scenery. I can't wait to go back again next year. Family run business. My dog was very happy too.

Response

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.Sorry to be so late in replying which was due to unforeseen circumstances.Hope to see you again sometime,kind regards Sylvia

Reviewer:Vicky S | Mon 8th May 2017 | 1 year ago


short break - Rating 5/5

very comfortable and clean

Response

Thank you for your very kind review.Hope to see you again, kind regards. Sylvia

Reviewer:Philip B | Sat 15th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful time- Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful weekend here with our dog and had a great time. Room and breakfast were both very nice, we would definitely visit again.

Response

Sorry for lateness of a response to you which was due to unforeseen circumstances.So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again, kind regards Sylvia

Reviewer:Andrew C | Tue 4th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Amazing Views, Lovely hosts and Fab Breakfast - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night over the weekend and I couldn't believe the views we had from the room, luckily the weather was glorious so we got the full benefit. The host is lovely and welcoming and the breakfast the next morning was fab - plenty to choose from and fresh ingredients. Would definitely stay again - thank you for having us on your beautiful home.

Response

Sorry for lateness of reply which was a due to unforeseen circumstances.Thank you so much for your kind review and hope to see you again.Kind regards. Sylvia

Reviewer:Leah B | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome was received. Facilities were excellent and a wonderful breakfast to start the day. My wife & I were cycling the Lakes & Dales Loop and Greenbank Farm is perfectly located after a challnging ride from Eskdale.

Reviewer:Les W | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

We felt very welcome and loved the feel of this amazing house. Sandy cooked us an amazing breakfast and we would love to come back, hopefully soon!

Reviewer:Miss. Lydia E | Mon 5th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Superb hosts - Rating 5/5

Sandy was the perfect host, friendly, informative and relaxed. Our rooms were warm, exceptionally clean and comfortable. Bed was a dream! Wonderful views over the valley from the second bedroom. Breakfast was of great quality, freshly cooked to order with good variety. Would definitely return and recommend.

Reviewer:Miss. Joanna B | Fri 25th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


the MOST comfortable bed ever - Rating 5/5

Loved it. Thoughtful, friendly hosts and a spacious bedroom with the MOST comfortable, dreamy bed ever.

Reviewer:Caroline F | Fri 25th Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Flying Visit - Rating 5/5

We recently spent an all too short one night stay at Greenbank Farm in Cartmel.We received a very warm welcome from Sandy, Sylvia and family on arrival and where shown to our spacious ensuite room.The room was very well appointed with tea/coffee making facilities and a refrigerator. Breakfast was a delight - fresh fruits, cereals, juice and a freshly cooked extensive menu were on offer all served in the lovely family kitchen.We can highly recommend Greenbank Farm and would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:John M | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Cosy warm and welcoming. We only stayed a night but could have stayed longer we loved it. Breakfast was really nice too. Bit of a walk down country lanes from cartmel but the staff did provide us with taxi numbers but just something to be aware of if you don't drive. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Leah M | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay. - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Greenbank Farm was excellent.The owners were very warm and welcoming and the breakfast was first class.The room was large, very clean and comfortable.

Reviewer:Neil H | Sun 13th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


A little treat - Rating 5/5

My self an a couple of friends were riding at the Friesian Experience and decided to stay at Greenbank farm B& B for a night just to make it an extra little treat and so we could have a good catch up as we hadn't seen each otber for a while. It was cosy comfy and we were welcomed in like family. Sandy laid out an amazing breakfast for us, couldn't do enough for us in fact. A lovely place to stay, being a horse lover and rider, it meant we came out the door straight to the horses😊 and the views from the room were of the beautiful area we were riding. Beautiful location for whatever you want to do. Will definitely be staying again😊

Reviewer:Gill P | Fri 11th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


First rate - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the Farm View room ,superb bed, very comfy.Room furnished to a high standard, plenty of information on where to go and what to do in the Lakes. Bathroom well appointed ,brilliant shower.. Breakfast could not have been better,first class ingredients,the fruit on offer looked and tasted fabulous,pastries were served hot from the oven. Full English consisted of top quality sausage and thick cut bacon,vine tomatoes beans and egg cooked to your liking. Other options are available,scrambled with smoked salmon,kippers etc.. A great place to stay,if you like a room with a view I'd recommend the Valley View room.

Reviewer:Miss. Louise P | Wed 9th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Fabulous farmhouse holiday - Rating 5/5

We had a fabulous time at your beautiful farmhouse, everything about it was perfect, lovely hosts, excellent breakfast, and seeing the Friesian horses made it extra special, thank you, we will definitely book again.

Reviewer:Lisa R | Wed 9th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely hosts family - Rating 5/5

We had a great time at Greenbank Farm B& B half month ago. My boyfriend and I got there by train, but Sandy was very kind to pick us up from the station. We were planned to take our pre-wedding photos at Blackhourse Ltd. so staying there was absolutely the best option! The room was clean and warm with lovely countryside decorations, the farm and village scenery were so beautiful, which reminds us of the days we spent in Switzerland. We met their two friendly dogs, and cute grandson. The highlight of our staying must be the breakfast that Sandy prepared for us! Delicious homemade full english breakfast! We really enjoyed our staying there, thank you Sandy and Silvana!

Reviewer:Miss. Qi T | Sun 6th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic idyllic location - Rating 5/5

We both loved our stay at Greenbank Farm, very warm and welcoming hosts , beautiful location , fantastic breakfast, very clean with lovely views , excellent value for money we will definitely return had a great time

Reviewer:Amanda L | Mon 31st Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

We only stayed for one night, can highly recommend. We stayed in farm view, large comfortable room with very large bed! All very clean and Sandy makes a cracking breakfast. We definitelybe back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise J | Mon 31st Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Real home-from-home B&B in a lovely setting - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely stay at Greenbank Farm - it really felt like a home from home and Sandy and Sylvia were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was very tasty too. The Farm has the most fantastic views and the opportunity to go riding from the Farm on one of their beautiful horses was a wonderful experience.

Reviewer:Claire F | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our night at Greenbank. Sandy was a very gracious host and turned out a great breakfast! Our room was very clean and comfortable with a really nice hot shower. The location is stunning and we'd definitely revisit.

Reviewer:Claire Tyler & C | Thu 6th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


my visit. - Rating 5/5

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.Excellent,& thanks for your hospitality.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan L | Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely location - Rating 5/5

Self contained and en-suite .We had a lage comfortable room, excellent breakfast and friendly proprietors..

Reviewer:Jean A | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Wonderful location within easy reach of Cartmel.Great hospitality from Sylvia and Sandy.Excellent breakfasts with amazing variety of fresh fruit.

Reviewer:Alan S | Sun 4th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


You can bank on Greenbank Farm - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Great view, comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Strongly recommended.

Reviewer:Ron K | Fri 2nd Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Beautiful location - Rating 5/5

Spacious en suite bedroom with large comfortable bed. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast with plenty of choice. Very friendly and if you are looking for somewhere different to stay this is the place we would recommend.

Reviewer:Angela B | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekday Retreat - Rating 4/5

Friendly comfortable accommodation with first class breakfast to suit all tastes.

Reviewer:David W | Sun 28th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Sweet - Rating 5/5

Most beautiful surrounding and warm welcome I felt at home with my family, I sure didn't want to leave, and soon I will return to spend a longer time.Sandi and Sylvia was just adorable. Big hugs, I do hope you receive myspecial card of Thank You!

Reviewer:Krysia H | Sat 27th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely horse riding stay - Rating 5/5

A warm and friendly welcome and a very comfortable stay. Beautiful views across the valley to Cartmel and the Priory. We stayed to ride the wonderful Friesian Horses and will be returning

Reviewer:Anna O | Fri 19th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Comfy, welcoming and 5 star brekky! - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Greenbank Farm on Tuesday night and loved it!.Very friendly welcome, spotless room, comfy bed, proper shower followed by a 5 star English breakfast.Sandy would put most of the master-chef contestants to shame!Thank you for looking after us so well.

Reviewer:Alison W | Thu 11th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Last minute booking - Rating 3/5

I was thinking about this review a lot on our way back to Cheshire, we had a enjoyable stay how ever, we felt that the price of the stay didn't reflect the quality of the room and standard of the facilities. Inisally when we arrived the reception was warm and welcoming from the owners, but the smell of their dogs was quite over powering. We did travel with our dog who was made to feel equally welcome. The room was small and out dated, the bed was so soft my partner and i almost fell into the middle of the bed. It was clean and the facilities in the room were all in good working order. The high light of the break was the breakfast 5*!!!On the whole we both agreed that value for money wasn't the best we felt it would be better priced at £45-50 per night. Unfortuantly we wouldn't recogmend it to friends, I hope you don't take this review in such a negative light but a helpful oneJames and Jane

Response

Many thanks for finding the time to post a review of us James and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The bed in the smallest of our three rooms is being replaced shortly and redecoration following minor flood damage will be undertaken as soon as practical. I agree that the room is small but this is so as to accommodate the en-suite shower and hallway - but it does have a lovely view overlooking the Cartmel valley and is competitively priced with other local accommodation! The facilities and decor also need to strike a balance between modern requirements and maintaining the character of this 17th century Grade 11 listed building.Kind regards,Sandy

Reviewer:James Kennedy| Wed 10th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


An Outstanding Stay - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I received a really friendly warm welcome at the farm.We were truly made to feel at home from the moment we arrived - nothing was too much trouble for our super hosts.Our room was cosy and comfortable, with absolutely everything we needed, and we shared the lovely family bathroom.Breakfast was delicious with an excellent choice - the cooked breakfast was superb, as were the pastries, fruit and juices.A wonderful stay - we will definitely return.

Reviewer:Claire Tennent & R | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


customer- Rating 4/5

Very dog friendly b& b,fabulous location and friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Elaine L | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Greenbank Farm - Rating 4/5

Our stay at Greenbank Farm was both enjoyable and relaxing and proved to be the perfect base to explore Cumbria and the Lakes. Our thanks to Sandy and Sylvia for being the perfect hosts and for those enjoyable (great start to the day ) breakfasts. As a supporter of horseracing it is the perfect base for Cartmel Racecourse, we shall most certainly be returning on race days.Colin and Susan Branch

Reviewer:Mr. Colin B | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely two nights at the farm. The room was clean and well equipped, with fabulous views, and the food was excellent. It was the first time we'd stayed B& B at a farm and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Reviewer:Mr. John D | Thu 4th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A wonderful bed and breakfast guest house. Very comfortable and lovely views. Sylvia and Sandy were very friendly and made you feel very welcome.Breakfast was suoerb - an amazing array of food and if you like horses this is the place to stay.

Reviewer:Pat B | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


our stay at Green bank farm - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time at Greenbank farm. The owners were very welcoming. The room was clean and tidy. The breakfast was amazing from continental breakfast to full English, The views were stunning and very peaceful.We highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. geoffl | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Positive experience- Rating 5/5

Everything about our stay at Greenbank Farm was excellent including the welcome, facilities, delicious breakfast, en suite room and all the information about the farm and where we could eat in the evening.

Reviewer:Heather B | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful find. - Rating 5/5

Absolutely perfect. We will be contacting you to book a longer stay with the Friesian Horse experience included for 2017.

Reviewer:Rodney H | Thu 21st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Greenbank Farm- Rating 5/5

The farm was set in a fantastic hillside location with panoramic views across the valley. Accomodation was first class with decor finished to a high degree complimented by an eclectic collection of equestrian and tribal paintings and statues, oh and the great full English breakfast set us up for the day (sourced from local produce).

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen L | Sun 17th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Thanks - Rating 5/5

Just to say thank you for making my father and I feel so welcome at our recent stay. It really did feel like 'home from home' and everything was done to ensure our comfort and make the stay enjoyable. The breakfasts were delicious - just my drop. An abundance of fresh fruit (including prunes!) and delicious pastries really did go down well.

Reviewer:Kath S | Fri 15th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Beautiful Location - Rating 5/5

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend at Greenbank Farm.The breakfast are excellent and it is a quiet and restful place.We would highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Helen B | Thu 14th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

An Excellent B & B in beautiful surroundings.The host were very friendly and catered to all our needs. Even though a working farm with the magnificent Frisian black horses did not disturb us in any way. Just enhanced the stay.

Reviewer:Graham M | Sat 9th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent breakfast. - Rating 5/5

Made to feel very welcome. Owners very helpful and breakfast was one of the best we have had at a B& B. We were cycling the Bay Way and there was a secure under cover barn where to leave the bikes over night.

Reviewer:Stephen W | Tue 5th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Luxury in a beautiful environment - Rating 5/5

A great overnight stay for me and my wife. The room was spacious and very handy to have your own front door and porch area. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Delicious breakfast and lovely host.

Reviewer:Mr. Kyran M | Fri 1st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Breakfast and Views - Rating 5/5

Excellent hospitality from Sandy and Sylvia, an excellent breakfast and a wonderful view to wake up to.

Reviewer:John T | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely rural home - Rating 4/5

Everything there for a really good B& B .Welcoming host.Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Lynda K | Sun 26th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights in June. We had the room that has its own entrance at the back of farm. It has an entrance way where you can leave boots etc which is really useful. Comfy bed. Breakfast was a delight. Sandy was very attentive and cooked a lovely breakfast. Highly recommend! It's a shame that it didn't stop raining for the whole two days or it would have been perfect!

Reviewer:Miss. Jill P | Sat 18th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Greenbank Farm - Rating 5/5

Excellent location.Excellent accommodation.Excellent hosts.

Reviewer:Phillip O | Tue 14th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfortable room with every need catered for. Fabulous choice at breakfast. Gorgeous views from the garden. Will definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Pamela M | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a lovely night at Greenbank Farm and would recommend.We travelled with our dog and had our own entrance which worked really well.It is an easy 20 min stroll into Cartmel.The breakfast was absolutely delicious and served in the main kitchen, and we would return.Thank you.

Reviewer:Nicky M | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Heavenly Hilltop Haven - Rating 4/5

Fabulous views, superb and great choice of breakfast cooked fresh by our host. Magnificent views over the valley and Friesan horses.Only negative our bed, very soft and uncomfortable. Otherwise highly recommended!

Reviewer:John S | Sun 5th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


good place to stay - Rating 5/5

I was travelling alone which is something new to me.the hosts made me very welcome,the room was very comfortable and I would definately stay there again.

Reviewer:Ann Louise R | Thu 2nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Happy with accommodation and breakfast. Beautiful surroundings ,friendly helpful hosts.Thank you

Reviewer:Rosalyn M | Sun 29th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Peaceful and comfortable - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay in the Farm View rooms. The large bed was very comfortable. Sandy cooked our delicious breakfasts to perfection and we felt very relaxed. Cartmel is an interesting and scenic place to explore with lots of good food available.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve L | Fri 27th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Love it- Rating 5/5

I've just had a truly fantastic weekend at green bank, the horses were a dream come true. We stayed at the farm and everyone was so friendly and welcoming the farm itself was beautiful and the breakfasts were first class, I would recommend it to anybody and I can't wait to go back!

Reviewer:Dani C | Mon 23rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


One night stay bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation.First class food.Warm welcome.Superb views.Great value.In short, could not be bettered.

Reviewer:Mrs. Josephine B | Sat 21st May 2016 | 2 years ago


B.B May20016 - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay especially the breakfast.would have liked a lounge where the tv was off!

Reviewer:Julie & David P | Fri 20th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Greenbank Farm - Rating 5/5

I stayed in the B& B after enjoying the Friesian Riding Experience on the farm. My room was clean and comfortable with fantastic views, I slept like a log! What a joy it was to open my curtains & see Anja & her 5 day old foal Ciska being taken out to the field for the day. The scenery is stunning & Greenbank Farm is just a few minutes away from the centre of the picturesque village of Cartmel. Sandy cooks a wonderful breakfast with most of the ingredients locally sourced, in fact I have nicknamed him Jamie. I will most certainly be coming back again.

Reviewer:Ms. Susan B | Mon 16th May 2016 | 2 years ago


May 2016 - Rating 5/5

We all enjoyed our stay here in the middle of cycling the Morecambe Bay route.We were made very welcome, comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, interesting farmhouse and horses.

Reviewer:Jane S | Thu 12th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation surrounded by the beautiful landscapes of the Lake District, and majestic friesian horses. Friendly and helpful owners, clean and cozy room and delicious breakfast. Highly recommend!

Reviewer:Anna E | Mon 9th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent overnight stay near Cartmel - Rating 5/5

We needed to spend a night near Heysham in order to get the ferry to the Isle of Man. we were fortunate to choose Greenbank Farm where we spent a comfortable night in lovely surroundings with horses, ducks, countryside to admire. Breakfast was wonderful, with an excellent choice of perfectly cooked food. I have already recommended it to some friends and will continue to do so. Many thanks.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth S | Sun 8th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent in all respects - Rating 5/5

High class accommodation in lovely location. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Tony S | Sun 1st May 2016 | 2 years ago


comfortable - Rating 5/5

Had a very comfortable four nights in an unseasonable cold spell at end of April. Beautiful quirky old farmhouse but with all mod cons. We shared a big bathroom with family, but this was no hardship at all and enjoyed luxurious power showers and deep baths. Sandy`s breakfast are first class.

Reviewer:David A | Fri 29th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful weekend at green bank Farm, lovely hosts, great food , comfortable room with great views across the valley. We defiantly visit again.

Reviewer:Angela C | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent in all respects. - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night in the "Farm View"room and thought that the room was very nice.The bathroom was good, with a powerful shower and good products to use.We particularly enjoyed breakfast:excellent range of fresh fruit and pastries and a delicious cooked breakfast.We would highly recommend this B& B.

Reviewer:Julie D | Mon 4th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Home From Home In A Beautiful Location - Rating 5/5

Totally delighted with everything about Greenbank Farm.Immaculate room.Cosey farmhouse style.Wonderful for our little dog who was experiencing her first trip away from home.Service could not be faulted.Wide range of breakfast options.Could not be more delighted with the whole farm feel experience whilst visiting Cartmel.Would recommend far and wide.

Reviewer:Dawn A | Mon 21st Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


exceeded all expectations - Rating 5/5

I booked a birthday treat at with the Friesan Experience and overnight at Greenbank Farm.To say the whole experience blew me away is an understatement. We arrived (later than planned, as I had messed up the dates), Sandy welcomed us to our room, which was lovley and warm, and the most comfortable bed I have slept in!Sandy served the best English Breakfast I can remember eating, which set us up for a whole day with the Black Horses.Just an amazing 2 days I will never forget !Cant wait to go back

Reviewer:Julia McHugh| Sat 19th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Can\'t recommend this place highly enough - Rating 5/5

Sandy and Sylvia were incredibly friendly and helpful, going out if their way to make us feel welcome. The room itself was lovely - very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was incredible, with a huge amount of choice and all as fresh as you can get. If I ever visit this beautiful part of the country again, I would definitely return to Greenbank Farm!

Reviewer:Sian H | Mon 14th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Cartmel gem - Rating 5/5

Cannot fault this accommodation,great breakfast

Reviewer:Richard W | Mon 14th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Best farmhouse B & B, pet friendly - Rating 5/5

A lovely 2 night stay. Room was lovely and cosy, bed very comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful and had a bath as well as a shower, We stayed in Farm View with its own entrance so perfect for our dog.Breakfast selection was as good as any 4* star hotel! food was lovely. Definitely go again/

Reviewer:Diane S | Mon 7th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

What a delightful homely find!Very warm welcome from Sandy who was putting the ducks away as we arrived!Lovely warm cosy room, our Labrador Ruby loved it too!Lots of choice for breakfast which was served in the lovely farmhouse kitchen!We will definitely be back!Thank you Sylvia and Sandy! Xx

Reviewer:Sue F | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Wonderful stay with lovely hosts - Rating 5/5

Thank you Sandy for such a lovely stay last weekend at Greenbank Farm - we had a thoroughly wonderful time with Tracey and her gorgeous friesians, and our stay at your b& b was excellent. We found your lovely family so warm and welcoming and the breakfasts were amazing (especially the eggs, so fresh and cooked perfectly toorder).

Reviewer:Laura B | Fri 27th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


Greenbank Farm - Rating 5/5

We had stayed in Cartmel Square for two nights previously, we only wished we had booked to stay the full duration with Greenbank Farm. The setting was wonderful despite the rain, with the most adorable horses. The room was fantastic with everything you could possibly wish for, with breakfast a 1st class experience, cooked in front of us by the owner. i would highly recommend especially to those who love horses and horse riding. I would definitely return.

Reviewer:Karen B | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Thanks Again! - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

Reviewer:Catherine Z | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Great b&b - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and well equipped room.Excellent breakfast.recommend smoked salmon& scr.. ambled eggs

Reviewer:Michael B | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


adults with 16 year old daughter - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay .clean room and bedding .lovely ensuite and clean ...we were given warm fluffy towels on arrival ...and a lovely cup of tea .breakfast was brill lots of choice sausage was gorgeous ..the whole family were lovely especially bailey what a lovely 4yr old ..tracey made my daughters day with the horses one to remember for a life time ..we would definately return .

Reviewer:Gail R | Sat 31st Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Amazing breakfast!!! - Rating 5/5

We had a great 2 night stay in the room in the main house. The room was comfortable and well-equipped. The owners were lovely and very hospitable and the breakfast was delicious! We would definitely stay here again ;)

Reviewer:Miss. Louise S | Fri 30th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, excellent breakfast, perfect host. Will be back if/when we stay in Cartmel again.

Reviewer:John P | Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderful get-away - Rating 5/5

Lovely, hospitable accommodation in beautiful surroundings. Cartmel has an excellent choice of food in addition to L'Enclume, the UK's best restaurant! We'll definitely be back - thanks very much for a great stay!

Reviewer:Mark A | Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent accommodation in beautiful setting ****** - Rating 5/5

Absolutely loved our stay in a delightful room - top class furnishings & delicious breakfast made to order. Sandy & Sylvia are really friendly and helpful. A camp bed was able to be put in our room for our son for a small extra charge. The bonus was having the most amazing beautiful horses on site for which Tracey let us clap (she was also extremely patient and answered a million & one questions from our son!)Couldn't recommend highly enough - thank you for a super relaxing stay!

Reviewer:Lorraine A | Thu 1st Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


stay in September - Rating 4/5

Excellent family run Band B. Breakfasts were ample and well cooked.Bedroom had wonderful view of valley but could have done with more drawer space.

Reviewer:Mr. Roy P | Thu 17th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Just what we were looking for! - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 nights as we were attending a friend's wedding at the racecourse. Hospitality terrific and breakfast fantastic.

Reviewer:Mr. Rob W | Sun 13th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Serene valley location - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location with nice walks.Excellent breakfasts.Very friendly hosts.Easy walk into Cartmel for supper.If you are travelling with a dog, ask for the ground floor room.For experienced riders the Black Horses option is an extra special dimension.

Reviewer:Gillian & Nick L | Sun 30th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Stay at greenback farm - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night, excellent accommodation, we was both made very welcome, breakfast was yummyThank you

Reviewer:Anne B | Fri 14th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Greenbank Farm - Rating 5/5

Excellent - comfortable beds, lovely room with view and excellent hosts, not to mention the variety for breakfast, spoilt for choice!

Reviewer:Mrs. Denise M | Tue 11th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic Hosts - Rating 5/5

Wife and a small son had a great stay on the "farm"(in reality, an old but comfortable lodge fill of character). Sandy Alexander is a great breakfast cook, and we enjoyed the hospitality a lot, as well as teh surroundings.

Reviewer:Constantine K | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Birthday Present - Rating 5/5

A friend and I had the most wonderful experience riding Some of Tracey's beautiful Friesians horses yesterday! We also stayed overnight on the farm and had breakfast prepared by Sandy in the beautiful farmhouse kitchen. Thank you for a wonderful time! Will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Jo P | Sun 2nd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Cosy stay in lovely farmhouse- Rating 5/5

Was a delight. In a beautiful setting. Warm and welcoming hosts who were flexible with out late arrival and accommodated all our needs. We would be pleased to stay there again when visiting Cartmel.

Reviewer:Maytal K | Tue 16th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Relaxing weekend - Rating 5/5

A lovely warm welcome, clean comfortable room and an amazing choice of breakfast.Stunning views over Cartmel enjoyed from the garden, we had a lovely relaxing weekend, thank you.

Reviewer:Richard & Antonia H | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Friesian Experience made better - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Greenbank Farm to attend a Friesian (Horse) Experience, however, wow did we get a lot more than that!The location is simply amazing! Views, walks, riding, cycling, fresh air. The other pleasant surprise was Cartmel village (1 mile walk). What a quaint and charming place with so many fabulous restaurants and places to sit and enjoy a relaxing drink or two!Huge thanks to Sandy and Sylvia who made us feel so welcome througout. Nothing was too much trouble. My husband also took advantage of the excellent WiFi and was able to work from the Farm and take in the breathtaking scenery while I went riding. I cant recommend Greenbank enough as a weekend/getaway destination!

Reviewer:Mrs. Sam S | Fri 12th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent stay and wonderful people - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a 3day break at Greenbank farm, with our two dogs. From the second we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. Our room, farm view, was beautifully clean and well appointed. Lovely soak in the bath at the end of a long walk, nice welcome tray, the mini fridge a bonus with fresh milk for our cups of tea, and bottled water for us. Exceptional breakfast and welcome from Sandy.nothing too much trouble. A real gentleman. Best place we have stayed in in the lakes. Cartmel is our favourite Cumbrian village, and Greenbank Farm is our new haven .

Reviewer:Jane M | Wed 10th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Friendly and beautiful- Rating 5/5

This place is in a beautiful location and with so much character. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. I Would highly recommend and will return!

Reviewer:Mr. Steven D | Wed 27th May 2015 | 3 years ago


May 25th 2015 - Rating 5/5

Beautiful B& B it has everything you require for a relaxing and enjoyable overnight break!Breakfast was delicious!I have booked to stay over again!

Reviewer:Noreen R | Wed 27th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Green- Rating 5/5

GreenBank Farm is charming. It offers home from home accommodation in an idyllic setting.Sylvia and Sandy were perfect hosts making us feel completely at ease in their home. They offered plenty of local info and as we were visiting for Cartmel Races it was very useful. The B and B being 1 mile away from the course.Sandy's breakfast offered every option and more.Thank you both we will defiantly return ASAP.

Reviewer:Janice H | Tue 26th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Amazing! - Rating 5/5

Could this be the perfect B& B?Lovely roomy room, huge comfy bed, fabulous bathroom,and what a view from the front garden!Breakfast was excellent, local bacon and sausages and eggs almost straight from the hen (or duck in our case!).Brilliant - we will return!

Reviewer:Lynn W | Mon 18th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Quite Little Get Away - Rating 5/5

I would highly recommend this B& B. I wanted a quite night away with the other half and thats what i got. The couple who own this farm are so lovely. The breakfast was so lovely, and for someone on a diet, it was nice to see loads of fresh fruit and low fat yogurt on offer. AND they cooked in low fat cooking spray. Even better :) Even better that our little dog could stay with us. Perfect!

Reviewer:Faith B | Mon 11th May 2015 | 3 years ago


A lovely room with a view and wonderful horses - Rating 5/5

After a long drive the sight of this idyllic cottage atop a hill was a welcome sight. The proprietors were a wonderfully welcoming couple and we were quickly shown to our room with an uninterrupted view across the valley. Perfectly placed for a quiet retreat I would recommend a visit. The breakfast was good and the bed comfortable too!

Reviewer:Mr. Jefferson G | Wed 29th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

The room was well appointed, breakfast excellent and hospitality first class.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter W | Mon 27th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Magical Place! - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! Beautiful room, hearty breakfast, and lovely welcoming family. Definitely want to return again soon!

Reviewer:Catherine Z | Mon 27th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Brilliant all round! - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend, enjoying the Friesian experience through Blackhorses and we came away with great big smiles! The whole family made us feel so welcome, the room was spotless and Sandy cooked a wonderful breakfast!Can't thank everyone enough, it was complete perfection!

Reviewer:Mr. Steve J | Mon 20th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely farmhouse set in such a pretty village.Very friendly hosts & the breakfast was superb.

Reviewer:Mark O | Sun 12th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Happy days - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, friendly, awesome breakfast. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Derek H | Wed 8th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

We had a great stay at Greenbank Farm. Sandy and his family are very welcoming and the home cooked breakfasts with the choice of hen or duck eggs and other selections were delicious too. Our room was comfortable and our daughter enjoyed meeting the horses. With Cartmel village being just 1 mile away we were able to take a nice walk and enjoy the scenery surrounding the farm.An overall pleasant stay that we would recommend to others.

Reviewer:Lesley M | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


lord c davies - Rating 5/5

excellent will come again

Reviewer:Colin D | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Easter break - Rating 5/5

Wonderful place, wonderful hosts. Highly recommend. The breakfasts were fabulous. We will definitely return.

Reviewer:Katrina C | Sun 5th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


b+b stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely couple, room has a lovely comfortable king size bed. Breakfast is first class. We will be back.

Reviewer:Jean T | Sat 21st Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Mother and Daugher weekend break for Mother\'s Day. - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a weekend break with my daughter as a Mother's Day treat. We were in a twin room annexe which was very clean, comfortable and private. The breakfast was first class, I didn't realise how many different things you could have for breakfast. All fresh, cooked to perfection and it set you up for the day.My daughter had also organised a surprise Carriage Ride around the racetrack, through the woods, into Cartmel, up to the accommodation and back into Cartmel, which was very entertaining. Tracy and her assistant (Sarah?) went out of their way to make it a wonderful experience.The people, accommodation, food, all lovely making this venue well worth a visit!

Reviewer:Estelle M | Wed 18th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Great stay in a lovely B & B - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay here. It was quiet and relaxing with excellent hospitality. The breakfast and the room were both superb! Really close to Cartmel where there are lots of local pubs to eat out in and explore.

Reviewer:Lauren P | Mon 9th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Greenbank Farm - Rating 4/5

Although only for 1 night we had a lovely stay.Breakfast was delicious.

Reviewer:Janis D | Sat 10th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Pleasant stay. - Rating 5/5

Super place with friendly welcome. Breakfast very good with all fresh ingredients. Will stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:Stuart W | Mon 5th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Great B+B - Rating 5/5

Can't recommend Greenbank enough. Beautiful farmhouse, very clean and well furnished rooms, fantastic view and a delicious breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome and were extremely well looked after, would definitely stay here again if making another trip up to Cartmel.

Reviewer:Mark C | Thu 18th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


farm view room - Rating 4/5

we enjoyed our stay at the farm, very convenient for anywhere in the South Lakes. our room was nicely equipped, warm and comfortable. The tooing and froing of horses and ducks were a treat to metropolis dwellers like us. Locally sourced bacon and sausages on the breakfast and very locally sourced duck eggs cooked by Sandy set us up for the day. Reasonably priced and highly recommended.

Reviewer:Karen L | Mon 8th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night, room was clean and tidy and breckfast was amazing would definitely go back.

Reviewer:Charles R | Tue 2nd Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Lovely bed - Rating 4/5

From the start Sandy made us very welcome. The bed was so comfortable. We had booked a meal at L'Enclume and the farm is ideally located, only a mile or so out of the village.Breakfast was lovely. Liked the separate entrance. Be aware the stable staff start quite early.The horses are beautiful black Friesians, worth a visit just for them.Small downside couldn't get wifi to work and the round toilet looked good but must be the most uncomfortable one I ever used.

Response

Many thanks for finding the time to review us – your comments are much appreciated. Let us know if you have problems with the internet connection as theWi-Fi range extender occasionally needs re-booting to ensure good internet access.

Reviewer:Charles S | Wed 19th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Lovely, quaint weekend away in Cartmel - Rating 4/5

Sandy was a most accommodating host when we arrived on the Friday evening.The Paddock View room was cozy, with a comfy bed, kettle for tea and coffee.We shared the family bathroom over the weekend, but it was never busy so this was not an issue not having en suite.Breakfast was excellent, warm pastries with great coffee, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, then a choice of hot breakfast with toast.We were very happy with the choice.Nearby we walked up Hamps Fell then back into Cartmel, which isn't too far.Would definitely stay again.Thanks Sandy!

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew R | Tue 18th Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Nice Accomodation, Great Location, Superb Breakfast - Rating 4/5

We very much enjoyed our stay at Greenbank Farm. Sandy and Sylvia kept a great balance between making us feel welcome and not being invasive, which was important as the 'Valley View' and 'Farm View' rooms are within the farm house that they live in (although the guest rooms did have a separate section upstairs). We were able to come and go as we pleased and the rooms were very private. The breakfast was great, in particular the cooked breakfast and freshly baked pastries. A good selection of fresh fruit and cereal was also provided. The room was clean and comfortable with a modern en suite bathroom and a fantastic shower. The view from the 'Valley View' was one of the highlights. The farm is in a great, peaceful location but is only a few minutes drive or 30 minute walk from Cartmel village. I'd only say it wasn't suitable for anyone who is planning on staying out until the early hours because there's a security gate which is locked at around 11:00pm each night, however, Sandy was more than happy to wait up, if required (we only returned at about midnight one night). All in all, it was a very much worth the money, I'd recommend Greenbank Farm to anyone and it enabled us to thoroughly enjoy our trip. Thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. Byron H | Sun 16th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


Stunning location and a warm welcome - Rating 5/5

I stayed in the Valley View room for 2 nights in November as part of a Friesian Horse Experience. The house has some wonderful features and character and the welcome from Sandy and his wife is extremely warm and friendly. The room and en-suite were bright, warm and very clean with some thoughtful touches such as fresh milk and bottled water in the mini-fridge. There was instant hot water in the large shower whatever the time of day. Breakfast was a feast - everything from fresh raspberries to a full English. The location is stunning and the view from the Valley Room lifts the spirits. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Ms. Rosemarie Y | Wed 5th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely and peaceful - Rating 4/5

We have just spent a lovely, relaxing weekend in Cartmel and Greenbank Farm was the perfect base.Very comfortable and clean and accomodated our dog well.The hosts were very friendly and breakfast delicious.About a mile walk down to Cartmel square where we enjoyed a lovely meal at The Royal Oak.Rather ambitiously we planned to walk back in the evening but after a meal and a few drinks we decided to find out if any taxi firms would take a dog and they would so that was a bonus.Overall a nice peaceful stay.

Reviewer:Ms. Lorraine J | Mon 13th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Friendly and idyllic - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the "paddock"room and found it to be comfortable and quiet.Sandy cooks a great breakfast and I loved the freshly baked pastries.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip R | Sun 28th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed at Greenbank farm. we were very impressed with the room, it was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was excellent. We will return.

Reviewer:Denise J | Fri 26th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Greenbank Farm B&B - Rating 5/5

We stayed here on the final day of our 10 day Scotland driving tour and Sandy and Sylvia (along with Black Horses Ltd's Tracey and Rynardt) made it the most memorable day of our wonderful adventure. One cannot wish for a better breakfast than what Sandy laid out in the morning. It was definitely the best of the best, an 11 on a scale of 1 to 10! The accommodations were warm and comfortable and very welcoming for a real "working"farm. On a final note, anyone who likes horses will be in awe of the beautiful and majestic Friesians, all 15 of them. Waking up and looking at them grazing just outside your window is absolutely out of this world. This fantastic experience was a once in a lifetime event and Greenbank Farm made it happen. Thank you, Sandy, Sylvia, Tracey, Ryhardt, Bailey, and last but not least, the ever loving and cuddly Kato.

Reviewer:Arnold C | Sat 13th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


One night stop over - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night, with our two dogs.We received a very warm welcome and were delighted with our room. The horses were friendly one in particular was very affectionate. I wished we had stayed longer, would not hesitate to visit again.Excellent breakfast too.

Reviewer:Bonda Kiddier & T | Thu 11th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Green bank farm B&B cartmel - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, very welcoming hosts, delicious breakfast,delightful stay, would recommend a stay there if visiting the area. Ideally situated for cartmel races which is the reason we booked to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil M | Tue 26th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Greenbank farm - Rating 5/5

Everyone at Greenbank Farm was friendly and welcoming.We arranged a carriage ride in addition to our stay and they were extremely flexible with our requirements.Hoping next year to arrange to come back to do a Freisian experience day.

Reviewer:Emma M | Thu 21st Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay.- Rating 5/5

Very friendly hosts and a comfortable room. Excellent kipper for breakfast. Beautiful views from the farm, and only a 20min toddle into Cartmel.

Reviewer:Alexander W | Wed 20th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

I combined a Friesian Experience day with a stay at Greenbank Farm.Sandy and Sylvia could not have been more welcoming and treated me as one of the family.I stayed in Valley View, which is a lovely comfortable double room, with a great shower! Lovely breakfast as well, with a great choice, thank you again.I'll be back :-)

Reviewer:Joy M | Tue 12th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


fantastic - Rating 5/5

Beautiful room , fantastic views and location , spotlessly cleanWe had a brilliant time and a great nights sleep the hosts are soooooo friendly and made us feel so welcome .....

Reviewer:Steven T | Mon 11th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Warm & Welcoming - Rating 5/5

My friend & I stayed at the farm for one night as we were going on a hack the following morning & I have never felt more welcomed at a B& B before. We stayed in the 'Farm View' room & the accommodation was perfect & decorated to a very high standard.Its safe to say we will be returning!

Reviewer:Sally C | Sun 10th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Mr - Rating 4/5

Very nice, lovely views and great breakfast

Reviewer:Cody C | Thu 7th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

We stayed at Green Bank for one night with our 9 month old daughter in the farm view room. On our arrival we were instantly greeted by Sandy who was very welcoming and instantly showed us to our room which had the travel cot that we requested all set up and ready to go. Everybody on the farm was very polite and always said hello. The room was lovely, clean and spaciousand the bed really comfortable. The en suite was excellent and the drench shower in particular was great!!The views from Green Bank are stunning and there are lots of things to do locally.Breakfast was delicious with a good choice available from fresh fruit to cereal and a choice of cooked breakfast. We would definable recommend this as a place to stay if you are looking to stay in the south lake area. Thanks Sandy and Sylvia we really enjoyed ourselves and will see you again soon.

Reviewer:Alan H | Thu 7th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


The Most Relaxing Weekend - Rating 5/5

I wanted a relaxing weekend with my son and this place was just the best. The hosts were so welcoming and friendly. Our room was lovely, very comfy bed!... the views around the farm and countryside are sublime... we didnt want to leave!

Reviewer:Marnie C | Wed 30th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


relaxing beautiful views - Rating 5/5

Sandy and Silvia we very friendly, kindly let us use their garden to enjoy the sunshine and views. About twenty minute walk into cartmel ideal place to stay for walking off you meal. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast choice excellent, good WiFi connection. Thank you for an enjoyable break. Dave and Lesley x

Reviewer:Irene Lesley S | Thu 24th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Superb! - Rating 5/5

Stayed the night before our driving experience,we were made very welcome, lovely room, spacious, super views & really comfortable bed! Fabulous breakfast, plenty of choices. Horses are beautiful, will definitely be back & will recommend!

Reviewer:Marie & Pete E | Wed 16th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


A most relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed 2 nights for a wedding in Cartmel. Sandy and Sylvia could not have been better hosts. The rooms were clean and comfortable, lovely showers and beds as other reviewers have noted. Delicious breakfast each morning set us up for the day. It also helped that the weather was glorious which showed of the wonderful views from the farmhouse. Highly recommend to others

Reviewer:Dr. Simon W | Tue 15th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Recommedation - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable stay, comfortable room, excellent choice of breakfast. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Jamesn W | Wed 9th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Both my husband and I loved our weekend the B& B was excellent with a lovely big room, private bathroom and great breakfasts. The owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The views are also superb, and will not think twice in booking there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ruth A | Tue 8th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Liz and Karl- Rating 5/5

Best b& b in the area made very welcome by sandy& silvia will be returning to farm view accommodation and breakfast something to be admired Hope to go back very soon

Reviewer:Mrs. Paula L | Fri 4th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


splendid - Rating 5/5

A splendid stay - comfortable rooms, magnificent breakfast, and well looked after.

Reviewer:John D | Tue 24th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Simply wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

My friend and I chose to stay at Greenbank Farm as we were riding out with the Friesian experience next day and the reviews looked good. We were met on arrival and shown to our room which overlooked the farm, the room was immaculate and fitted out beautifully, we had a great nights sleep and enjoyed a tasty home cooked breakfast next morning. Everyone was wonderfully friendly and accommodating I would not hesitate to recommend the B& B and look forward to staying there again.

Reviewer:Dr. SarahA | Tue 24th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Greenbank farm - Rating 5/5

A warm and friendly welcome. A lovely location with a wonderful view from our room. Delicious breakfast. Will definitely stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:Judith G | Sat 21st Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Comfortable lodgings - Rating 4/5

Myself and the girlfriend were well received and straight away we very much liked the homely environment we had just walked into. Our 'valley view' room did indeed have a splendid one over the various fields of the local area. The room and en-suite were very clean and we both had a good sleep on a comfy bed. We send our thanks to Sandy and Sylvia for looking after us:-)

Reviewer:Danny C | Tue 17th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Horse Heavan - Rating 5/5

My 2 days & 2 nights at Greenbank Farm were hugely pleasurable .The horses were magic..exquisite.The Family were lovely & made me most welcome.My room very comfortablr & the breakfasts,well, too good ,too much.

Reviewer:Julia V | Sun 15th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Greenbank Farm for five nights;the family made me very welcome. It is a lovely relaxing place to stay and the breakfast is to be highly recommended.I will be booking again for next year.Thank you.

Reviewer:Angela J | Mon 9th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


fantastic - Rating 5/5

Fantastic place to stay, very friendly and the breakfast was great and room was fantastic

Reviewer:Ben B | Sat 7th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Greenbank Farm - Rating 5/5

excellent location and service would recommendGreenbank Farm for a relaxing holiday or breakand for panoramic views.would have no problems re booking Greenbank Farm.

Reviewer:Anthony R | Sun 1st Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

We had a vey enjoyable 4 night stay and would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen S | Wed 28th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Stayed for a long weekend in May;accommodation fully met our requirements as both clean and comfortable;lovely breakfasts with wide range of choice;welcoming hosts

Reviewer:David B | Mon 19th May 2014 | 4 years ago


short break - Rating 5/5

We rate this as the best B& B we have ever been to,sandy made us welcome from the start and our room was spectacular. the place was quiet and peaceful,also kato the dog was lovely.Perfect place for a break

Reviewer:Lindsay B | Fri 16th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Exceptional Stay - Rating 5/5

The accommodation is fabulous,spacious,ground floor,ideal for the more mature person who don't do stairs.Entrance hall,good sized bedroom with two seater leather settee,wardrobe and fridge.Hospitality tray with lovely cappuccino sachets and biscuits.TV on the wall with channels galore.The en suite bathroom is very modern,with a great shower in the bath.The view from the bedroom included a stable and the paddock with the gorgeous black horses in attendance,two ducks also black and Cato a 7 month old puppy the size of a shetland pony but so soft lolBreakfast at 9 in the farmhouse kitchen,with everything you could wish for including fresh baked hot croissants and various hot pastries,fresh fruits,yoghurts,cereals.Full English with fresh farm eggs and local produce or variations thereof nothing was to much trouble all beautifully cooked by Sandy.The views at the front of the house were stunning and the place is so quiet apart from the clip clop and whinny of the horses which was delightful to hear.We had a great experience and got to see one of the horses pulling the carriage and the stallion being taken to his field what a fabulous sight.Take plenty of carrots and small apples as the horses loved them.Everyone we met were friendly and chatty and I took lots of photos.I would recommend this beautiful farm for an experience you will never forget.Thanks to all concerned.

Reviewer:Lesley Ann A | Sun 11th May 2014 | 4 years ago


4th may 2014 - Rating 5/5

Good location, clean comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast... We had a lovely stay

Reviewer:Miss. Emily W | Mon 5th May 2014 | 4 years ago


A beautuful place to stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely farm B& B in a great place. Our room and son's room were newly renovated to a high standard with stylish ensuite bathrooms. The views of the valley and horses were super. Very welcoming and friendly hosts snd a fabulous breakfast. Would come here again. Thank you.

Reviewer:JULIE W | Sun 4th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Greenbank Farm - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic stay. The hospitality was the best I have experienced since being in England. I would recommend staying here to anyone.

Reviewer:Caitlin O | Fri 2nd May 2014 | 4 years ago


You should stay at Greenbank Farm - Rating 5/5

My sister and I decided to stay at Greenbank farm for our birthday. We had a great time. The hosts are very welcoming and it nice to stay somewhere with real life rather than a sterile hotel! Seeing the horses each morning and being greeted by their friendly dog made it all the more friendly. It's about 20mins to walk into the centre of Cartmel which we did each day. Sandy our chef for breakfast was very attentive. It is a lovely place to stay if you want a friendly rural retreat.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carole M | Sat 26th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location, stunning bedroom and bathroom. Lovely people and a cracking breakfast.Glad we came across such a gem. Will recommend and return

Reviewer:Adam B | Sun 20th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Greenbanks farm, Cartmel - Rating 5/5

Attentive owners.Clean, comfortable, nice breakfast with excellent choice.Lovely location generally and essy access to Cartmel and the Lakes

Reviewer:Brian H | Wed 16th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Bed and breakdast - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and friendly, a lovely location and excellent breakfast. We will stay again.

Reviewer:Bridget F | Fri 11th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Can't wait to go back- Rating 5/5

A FabulousWeekend, three generations stayed at GreenbankFarm for our daughters 25th Birthday . It was a most memorable weekend. Incredible horses, Wonderful Hospitality, amazing breakfast. Can't wait to return. Very soon we hope. Many Thanks . Beverley Bonamy-Price. and family.

Reviewer:Beverley B | Mon 3rd Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


a pleasant stay! - Rating 4/5

A very warm welcome, the bedroom and bathroom were clean,warm and comfortable.The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and fresh produce.The surroundings are very peaceful and picturesque. Would definitely visit again!

Reviewer:Mrs. LynneA | Mon 11th Nov 2013 | 5 years ago


A wonderful stay- Rating 5/5

A huge thank you to Sandy and his extended family for a wonderful stay at this friendly and charming B& B. Our room was finished to a high standard, breakfast was impeccable and varied and above all we were made most welcome by all those at Greenbank Farm. We look forward to staying again.

Reviewer:Mr. Aaron B | Mon 28th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Excellent weekend retreat, service and facilities

Reviewer:Mr. Richard S | Sat 26th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Wonderful accomodation - Rating 5/5

I have been in Greenbank Farm for one night and what I could say about is that was one of the best accommodation that I have been before:warm and kind people, breathtaking landscape, large,clean and tidy bedroom, very comfortable, a great bathroom. They really think in every single details and made me feel very welcomed. And if you like horses there is no best place in the world to stay! I do hope to come back some day.

Reviewer:Marcia Dantas de L | Tue 1st Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Horse Riding
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat